American Bar Association American Bar Association
header

 
Can Benefits Lawyers and Other Service Providers be Sued for Malpractice for Services to ERISA Plans

ABA JOINT COMMITTEE ON EMPLOYEE BENEFITS  • DATE: June 25, 2009
SPONSORS: The Sections of Business Law, Health Law, Labor and Employment Law, Real Property, Trust and Estate Law, Taxation, and Tort Trial and Insurance Practice; And the American College of Employee Benefits Counsel

General Information

A 60-minute TeleConference/Live Audio Webcast
THURSDAY, June 25

1:00-2:00 pm ET / 12:00-1:00 pm CT / 11:00 am-12:00 pm MT / 10:00 am-11:00 am PT 

Moderator:
Cynthia Marcotte Stamer
, Curran Tomko Tarski LLP, Dallas, TX

Speakers:
Kurt Lawson,Hogan & Hartson LLP, Washington, DC
Mary Ellen Signorille,AARP Foundation Litigation, Washington, DC

The Supreme Court''s 2005 Aetna v. Davila decision reframed but far from settled the road map for determining when ERISA preempts state law malpractice claims. Five years later, the courts continue to define when and how ERISA PREEMPTION affects state malpractice and misfeasance claims against accountants, lawyers, health care providers, actuaries and others. This distinguished panel will discuss and share perspectives on the evolving precedent and its implications on these and other state malpractice claims from the perspective of plaintiffs and defendants involved in these claims.


   
Can Benefits Lawyers and Other Service Providers be Sued for Malpractice for Services to ERISA Plans
General Information
Purchase Audio Recording
MCLE
Policies and Procedures
Contact JCEB
Attendee Area